The Writers’ Museum is a celebration of the lives of three of Scotland’s greatest writers – Robert Burns, Sir Walter Scott and Robert Louis Stevenson. The museum is based in the historic Lady Stair’s House, built in 1622, and it can be found in Wardrop’s Court between the Mound and the Lawnmarket stretch of the Royal Mile. The Museum features many original pieces and objects that belonged to the three men.
Robert Burns (1759 – 1796) is Scotland’s most revered Poet (and lyricist), and is famous for works such as ‘Auld Lang Syne’, ‘Ae Fond Kiss’, and his ‘Address to a Haggis’, read aloud at Burns Suppers the world over.
Sir Walter Scott (1771 – 1832) was an esteemed novelist, playwright and poet, most known for works such as ‘Ivanhoe’ and ‘Rob Roy’. The enormous rocket-like Scott Monument was erected in his honour; It sits in Princes Street Gardens.
Robert Louis Stevenson (1850 – 1894) was a novelist, poet and travel writer whose works ‘Treasure Island’, ‘Kidnapped’ and ‘Jekyll and Hyde’ garnered him international fame.
The Writers’ Museum official website:
Official visitor information for the Writers’ Museum:
Looking for other attractions near the Writers’ Museum? You might like these:
The famous Royal Mile is steps from the Writers’ Museum:
The Museum on the Mound:
The Scotch Whisky Experience: